Posted by: Harry Kimpel | July 13, 2011

SharePoint 2010: ‘Access Denied’ when using Managed Metadata Service terms in custom list

Within my SharePoint 2010 environment, I have created my own Managed Metadata Service including a specific term hierarchy. After doing so, I wanted to use these terms as a managed metadata column in a custom list. I was able to create new list items leaving the newly created metadata field empty. But, as soon as I started typing in the metadata field, the system prompted me with appropriate synonyms of the matching terms. However, when I tried to save the new item, I got an error message saying “Access Denied”.

After a little bit of research I was able to solve this issue. Here is what I did:

– open up the URL http://<your_site_url>/Lists/TaxonomyHiddenList/

– under “List Tools” click on the “List” tab and select “List Permissions” from the ribbon

– add your “Users” group and provide “Contribute” permissions

After changing the list permissions I was able to create new items in the custom list with terms assigned from the Managed Metadata Service.


Responses

  1. […] reference from : https://kimpel.wordpress.com/2011/07/13/sharepoint-2010-access-denied-when-using-managed-metadata-ser&#8230; […]


Leave a comment

Categories